Some Days Nothing Goes As Planned

IMG_2591
Mystical, or at least misty.

I had planned to tell you about biking to a bit of forest in Passauer Land where there are supposed to be Stone-Age cave drawings on giant boulders, but the excursion was plagued from the start. First, I kept getting lost on the way there. Then the last bit of road was a kilometer of 20% uphill. My phone’s camera steamed up, making pictures too foggy to be of much use. I found the stones but couldn’t make out a single image or form on them. Then my route back to town proved to be the worst I could have chosen, a two-lane with lots of traffic and lots of hills. It was one of those roads where, every time a car approached, it had to pass another car going in the opposite direction right where I was. Worried now about being late for work that evening, I rode into the next small town and hopped on the train one minute before it departed, and forgot to buy a ticket. (There, at least, I was lucky, and  wasn’t thrown off.)

But there is this, from a ride along the Danube last week:

IMG_2585The Danube ferry, about 10 kilometers upriver from Passau. If the ferry’s at the other bank, you press the button to ring the bell to summon it.

This entry was posted in Bavaria, travel. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Some Days Nothing Goes As Planned

  1. paschberg says:

    This was clearly a:

  2. paschberg says:

    …wich could by read literally “wird ordentlich fad” = will be really boring walk ,but if read as it sounds in dialect “wird ned fad” = the walk won´t be boring. Imeant of course the latter one.

  3. kcosumano says:

    LOL!

  4. kcosumano says:

    If it had one t (Wird net fad) I would immediately recognize it as the latter. That extra t makes one wonder, however!

Comments are closed.