A Idea of Mine

I have a confession to make. Beyond all the other things I am doing right now – singing, translating, assisting in a bookselling business – I have a project in mind for the future. I want to put together a guidebook for the Via Raetia.
There are guides and books for following the Via Claudia Augusta, the first Roman-made road to cross the Alps in this region, but I have yet to find a modern tourist guide in English for it’s younger sister, the Via Raetia. The Via Claudia has an “official” route which one can follow ona bike, and much of it may accurately follow the old road. The Via Raetia does not, and here you can see why:
Wiel_Raisting_google

Clearly one can’t just go traipsing across private property, let alone tell others to do so.

Walking, cycling, sights along the way, history, archaeology, culture, on the route between Augsburg and… well, how comprehensive do I want this to be? I could keep it within Bavaria (Augsburg to Mittenwald) or publish installments (Part 2, North Tyrol from Mittenwald to the Brenner Pass, Part 3 Italy: Brennero to Verona). Even if I had no other work, this would take a few years of research, travel, exploration. I’m not sure I’ll ever get to do it. (Note to any publishing houses: I’m here, “boots on the ground”, if you are considering something along these lines from a distance.)

But all this will have to wait another year at least, because for professional reasons I am going to be spending a considerable amount of time at the other end of Bavaria, namely closer to the Czech border.

Image from Google maps.

This entry was posted in archaeology, culture, Germany, history, Italy, Life Abroad, literature, memory, travel. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Idea of Mine

  1. ellroon says:

    That’s the trouble with living on top of, in the middle of history. Sad that fields can’t be traipsed through, but people have to live in the real world with farm land and fences and property rights. But how fantastic to have a Roman road going through your plot.

  2. kcosumano says:

    We have an Iron Age “Keltenschanze” – an earthwork – not far from us, and the Via Raetia passes right by it – somewhere. We walk there often, and every time we do I find myself wondering where the road was.

  3. Daniel says:

    Great idea. Go for it.

  4. paschberg says:

    You know this homepage (or did you send me the links once)?
    http://www.leidorf.de/index.php?option=com_zoom&Itemid=26&catid=12
    Aerial phtotgraphs for archeology in Bavaria

  5. kcosumano says:

    paschberg, I don’t remember that link, thanks for posting it. The best way I have found to follow the roads is through the Bayern Denkmal Atlas (http://www.blfd.bayern.de/denkmalerfassung/denkmalliste/bayernviewer/)
    and also a little bit more from these guys (http://www.heimatforscher-diessen.de/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=50&Itemid=57)

Comments are closed.