Kaltenbrunn Bahnhof

IMG_2305Kaltenbrunn Station, a charming little ruin on the rail line between Mittenwald and Garmisch-Partenkirchen. Trains haven’t stopped there since 1984.  When we pass it I am often reminded of the one in the movie The Station Agent.

753827720_CTSeo-LIn the movie, loner and train-enthusiast Fin McBride (Peter Dinklage) inherits this property from his boss and only friend, and thus his life begins anew.

(2nd image from here.)

This entry was posted in Germany, travel. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Kaltenbrunn Bahnhof

  1. I never noticed this station before. Reminds me of another movie: De Wisselwachter, by Jos Stelling.

  2. Marcellina says:

    I don’t know this movie, but I will look into it!

  3. paschberg says:

    I have a faint remebrance of a trainstop in the middle of nowhere. But in fact it is now quite a large settlement there. Would be appropriate to reopen?
    “The stationmaster” was a nice film. De Wisselwachter sounds also interesting, especially in dutch (the only dutch film I saw till now was “Antonias Welt” – I didn´t expect, dutch (orignal, with subtexts) would be nice to hear – but it did.

  4. Marcellina says:

    I would think it’s too close to Garmisch-Partenkirchen, but then Farchant seems a similar distance on the other side of GAP.

    De Wisselwachter is available in its entirety on YouTube, apparently dubbed (what there is to dub) in Russian!

  5. paschberg says:

    Well, comparing Farchant to Kaltenbrunn is also a difference in size.

    Visitied youtube yesterday; I understand……very strange. A dutch film in Scotland. The dialogs (!) almost like in “Temroc” made it easy to follow (or not – as the plot was not very consistent for me). But very nice railway scenes 🙂 kept me to watch vor a longer time.

Comments are closed.