Weekend (and Anniversary) Links

Happy 6th Anniversary to the blog. I never thought I’d be still writing it; then again, I never thought I’d still be in this apartment. The blog moved, even if I didn’t, and enjoys its new(er) home immensely. Dem Blog alles Gute zum sechsjährigen Jubiläum. Ich dachte nie dass ich ihn nach dieser Zeit noch führen würde, ebenso, wie ich nie dachte dass ich noch immer in derselben Wohnung wäre. Der Blog zog im Gegensatz zu mir um und geniest sein neue Zuhause sehr.

It may well be a restful Sunday for you but I’ll be working this all afternoon, so while I’m off qualifying myself for an Old Testament stoning (actually, the guy that the Lord God commanded to be put to death was heinously collecting firewood. If he had been, you know, singing and acting on a stage, for pay, that would have been something entirely different. In fact, that’s what priests do every Sunday!), here are some links to what’s been happening around here. Es könnte ein erholsamer Sonntag sein, aber  ich arbeite den ganzen Nachmittag, und während ich mich auf einen alttestamentarische Steinigung vorbereite (die betreffende Person hatte ruchlos am Sabbat Feuerholz gesammelt und sollte daher nach Gottes Gesetz mit dem Tode bestraft werden)  stelle ich ein paar links über Neuigkeiten aus der Umgebung zusammen.

In the Department of Why-Didn’t-I-Think-Of-This, an Austrian woman managed to lure a few sadomasochists to her farm with the promise of punishment, and then put them to work, doing farm chores in fetish gear. And it took the men a week to figure it out. In die Rubrik “Warum bin ich nicht selbst draufgekommen“ passt die Nachricht über eine Österreicherin, die einige Sadomasochisten mit dem Versprechen, sie zu bestrafen, auf ihren Bauernhof lockte, dort aber für herkömmliche landwirtschaftliche Arbeiten in Fetischkleidunng verwendete. Die betroffnen Männer brauchten einen Woche (!) um daraufzukommen.

In archaeology, a volunteer group will now get government financial support as it researches Tirol’s old water managments canals or Wasserwaale, some of which go back to the 12th century. The Romans had built stone aqueducts, but the local peasants here in the Alps were making trenches on the hillsides. I never did find a fitting English word for Waal. Archäologie: Eine ehrenamtliche Gruppe möchte nun von der Regierung für einen Forschungsprojekt über Tiroler Wasserwaale  finanzielle Unterstützung bekommen. Einige von diesen datieren ins 12 Jahrundert zurück.Während die Römer Steinaquädukte bauten, haben die Bauern der Alpen Kanäle in die Hänge gegraben.

IMG_0747
Summer adieu, yesterday there was snow on the Patscherkofel. Ade Sommer:  Gestern fiel Schnee am Patscherkofel.

I understand some of you may be seeing ads below posts. WordPress is finding ways to collect revenue, since I have not paid for the ad-free upgrade. I cannot see the ads myself (which may be Ghostery doing its magic) but if they disturb you, please contact me and I’ll see what I can do. Ich nehme an, dass einige meiner Leser Werbungen unter meinem Blog vorfinden werden. Da ich nicht für eine werbefreies Upgrade gezahlt habe, wird WordPress Wege finden Einnahme zu lukrieren. Ich kann die Werbungen selbst nicht sehen (wahrscheinlich, weil Ghostery sie unterdrückt), sollte sie jemanden stören kontaktieren Sie mich bitte; ich werde versuchen das zu verbessern.

This entry was posted in archaeology, Austria, theater. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Weekend (and Anniversary) Links

  1. paschberg says:

    Stoning….that might be carrying coals to newcastle: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MIaORknS1Dk

    Waal: Irrigation ditch / channel, suon in Wallis, levada in Portugal (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Levada), due to this leat might be the english word, flume the US wording.

  2. paschberg says:

    Correction:
    Flume must be “Fluder” in german, the channel to the mills wheel. The sound is similar.

    another word for Waal might be “Rans” hidden in Al(t)d-rans, Rans, Sist-rans maybe also Lans
    because ther some small creeks were were turned away horicontally, other creeks deverted (like the Herztalbach and the Hasentalbach, ahich originated from one creek)

  3. Marcellina says:

    Rans=Waal that is very interesting!
    Maybe simply “watercourse” (although that sounds as if it could also be natural), or even acqueduct, which Wikipedia says “In modern engineering…is used for any system of pipes, ditches, canals, tunnels, and other structures used for this purpose”. Although I think many people think of acqueducts as elevated water bridges. Were Waale used only for irrigating crops, or for other water uses as well?

Comments are closed.