On The Border

IMG_0475

Approaching the Alps from the north, somewhere near Murnau. The Föhn cleans the air and allows for long, clear views.

IMG_0474

A hidden courtyard in Mittenwald, with evening sun on the mountains. I had an hour to kill between trains, and despite our proximity to the border I had no Austrian internet access, but the weather was pleasant enough for a walk around town. I chatted up a Turkish Kebap seller while I waited for my Döner Kebap. I remarked that it looked like the summer tourist season hadn’t begun, and he told me, “Deutschland ist kaputt!” He’d moved to Mittenwald 6 months from Garmisch-Partenkirchen, and said that there are no jobs these days. We both agreed that things are somewhat better in Austria, for which I can be grateful.

IMG_0471

Mittenwald again: in a tiny war chapel behind the church, customary death notices of fallen soldiers from the Second World War. Some of them look quite young.

This entry was posted in assimilation, food, Germany, Life Abroad, travel. Bookmark the permalink.