Schalensteine? Maybe.

In town, people are wearing summer clothes and sipping coffee at sun-soaked outdoor cafes. Up on the northern-exposure, shadier hills, the snow is still a foot deep in places.

A view of the Patcherkofel from Lanser Kopf. When no one else is there, it’s a peaceful and quiet place to rest and daydream.

Just underneath the Lanser Kopf, a pile of stones caught my eye. Since I have learned about the local archaeological history of these Alpine regions, I can scarcely let a chapel-topped hill, a mound or a pile or rocks go uninspected. These rocks reminded me of the Sacrificial Stone (Opferstein), found near the Amper River just north of the Ammersee in Bavaria. I have never seen that one myself, but there are photographs at the link.

And what did I find under a light dusting of needles? Cup markings, of course!

Small and easily overlooked, but there. Whether they really are very old, or made by mischievous teens 30 years ago, who can say? But, there they are.

This entry was posted in archaeology, culture, history, Innsbruck, Mountains, nature. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Schalensteine? Maybe.

  1. Lovely place! Mostly I don’t miss the snow, living in southern Arizona, but every once in a while I get a hankering to throw a snow ball or slide down a hill…

  2. Marcellina says:

    There are plenty of snowy hills here to slide down! In fact we’re getting avalanches again now that it’s warmed up — recently 6 or 7 on a snowshoe tour in Salzburg province got buried, one of whom died.

  3. Paschberg says:

    I made a short visit on the Paschberg the same day (2.3.). evening – but I would have ned skates for the paths.
    I am not esure, wether those cup-stones might be glacial origin…

  4. Marcellina says:

    Ah, that would be a likely explanation. It also lets me imagine a situation where stone-age people would find shallow cup marks made by glacial churning, get an idea, and begin to make them deeper.
    I strayed from the icy main paths and went straight up the hill in the snow. The entire enterprise took four hours.

Comments are closed.