Im Schnee

The snow is packed down in places to near-ice, in others just a dusting over actual ice, which makes walking sticks mandatory (and a sense of adventure, meaning, you’ll get down the hill one way or another!)

For my friend Roger, who I understand is a steam train fanatic (although the sign is actually for a tram crossing, which makes it all the more charming.) Reminds me of Monopoly.

Mr. Snowman is all ready to party down for Fasching. If you’ve no lampshade to wear on your head, a festive saucepan will do just as well.

This entry was posted in holidays, Innsbruck, nature. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Im Schnee

  1. Paschberg says:

    Like this picture shows http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/de/9/9b/IMB_Lok1.jpg the steam train sign had it´s justification (till 1936).

  2. Marcellina says:

    I thought that might be the case!

    This looks like Tantegert. Did the rail line go electric in 1936? (UPDATE: I answered my second question with a visit to Wikipedia. Yes.)

  3. ellroon says:

    I’ve been watching your Austrian weather out of habit, even though my son is now stateside and in a PhD math program. I have to confess I’m grateful not to be worrying about my son snowboarding in Gastein right about now. Is this winter unusual with the avalanches and depth of snow?

  4. Marcellina says:

    ellroon, yes I think it is. Certain places keep going up to level 5 on the avalanche warning, and last week the railroad line (the one I take) was closed off after a severe overnight snowfall. Local friends have told me that these kinds of conditions happened last perhaps 20 or 30 years ago. Here in town we are fine, but remoter villages remain vigilant, and skiers and snowboarders are being constantly reminded to stay on the marked pistes. One 15 yr old local kid didn’t last month — and I think they still haven’t found his body, even with cell phone tracking…

Comments are closed.