Baby, It’s Cold Outside

…but warm apple strudel with vanilla sauce and cappuccinos at a window table makes for a pleasant diversion from the weather. The lake is frozen in the shallow areas, thick enough to support the ducks but not people. This is one of the best times to visit the lake, when the tourists are away.

Returning to Innsbruck, I was already on the train when I learned that the rail service between Garmisch-Partenkirchen and Seefeld was out, due to danger of avalanches. A bus to Mittenwald and a taxi to Seefeld got me back on a train and homeward bound. I was fortunate to share the taxi costs with a nice older couple who wanted to know if I sang Lehar operettas, and an equally nice Russian kid (who grew up in Augsburg) who was going to look at shared student housing for his first semester at the university. Everybody I encountered was helpful and patient, which made the chaos tolerable. Thanks!

This entry was posted in Germany. Bookmark the permalink.