Christmas Cookies

My first attempt at traditional Austrian Vanillekipferln. The crescent shape is allegedly in commemoration of the 1683 Battle of Vienna, in which the Viennese held off the Turks for a few years (at least until the Guest Worker Program went into effect.)

Morbidly, my cookies don’t resemble crescents so much as severed fingers, but they taste just fine.

Update: gosh, by right-wing standards, Vanillekipferln would be downright Islamofascist.

This entry was posted in assimilation, Austria, christmas, food, history. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Christmas Cookies

  1. Karin says:

    I love these-my mother made them every year for Christmas, and I also make them, when I’m feeling ambitious. Yours look good, but I like to bury mine in more vanilla-flavored powdered sugar

  2. Marcellina says:

    I had to make my own Vanillenzucker, but when I get back I’m going to make them with the real stuff, with more powdered sugar too!

  3. Karin says:

    It’s nice to grind up a vanilla bean and mix it with the sugar. But one those little packets of vanilla sugar works too! As the cookies sit in the tin, the flavor gets better and better.

Comments are closed.