Nationalfeiertag

I observed Austria’s national holiday today by leaving the country — for a few days, at least.
Austria probably prefers it that way: Earlier this week I made my annual pilgrimage to the Ministry of Making Life More Complicated For Foreigners (aka the bureau for residence permits) where, after seventeen years of law-abiding, productive, legal residence, I now had to have my fingerprints taken. And pay one hundred euros for the privilege.

UPDATE: Apparently it’s going in that direction all over Europe. From the German Federal Office for Migration and Refugees:

Pursuant to Council Regulations (EC) nos. 1030/2002 and 380/2008 all EU member states are required to introduce the electronic residence permit. The aim is to standardise EU residence permits for third-country nationals and, by using biometric data, to strengthen the link between document and document holder, thereby preventing abuse.

This entry was posted in assimilation, Austria, Life Abroad. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Nationalfeiertag

  1. ellroon says:

    They’re still not sure about you and your foreign ways….

  2. Paschberg says:

    I must say, as an Austrian I am ashamed about that. I wonder, when they will claim ones DNA pattern to be stored also in passports…..

  3. Carlisle says:

    A bit off topic, but no need for Austrians to be ashamed of Austria – check out the graphic.
    http://www.nytimes.com/2011/10/29/opinion/blow-americas-exploding-pipe-dream.html?hp

  4. Marcellina says:

    Carlisle: yep, that graphic says a lot. And you know what is a real wake-up call? When someone complains about something here, and I respond with how good it is here, actually, in comparison to America, and the reaction is “Well, sure, you’re talking about the US!” as if it were the same as, I don’t know, Mozambique, and that there is no comparison. The first world is moving on quickly without us, fingerprinting or no.

Comments are closed.