Hansi Throws A Diva Fit

“There have been false reports being circulated through the media this year about the Fan Pilgrimage and the open air concerts, and this malicious gossip has affected me deeply. For this reason, there will be no event next year.”

And so, blaming the media, Hansi Hinterseer has decided to discontinue his annual Big Event in his home-town of Kitzbühel, Austria. Is he saying that it wasn’t about the money after all? According to newspaper reports, Hansi demanded an appearance fee of € 500,000 (up from € 350,000).
Now, let’s say for the sake of argument that dear Hansi does this all for his fans, and for his charities, and doesn’t like the idea of his hard-earned money going to all the middlemen on the chain. I can understand that. However, these concert tickets aren’t anywhere near free, and a visit to Hansi’s homepage doesn’t mention any charities or goodwill projects in which he might be financially involved (it does include his favorite color, “pastels”, I suppose in case you are inclined to send him a Christmas present or something.)

Really, honestly, I have no gripe with Hansi himself. Here is a cheerful, good-looking guy who realized that he could transition from ski-star to pop-star (Austrian-style) and make a good living from it. My compliments in that respect. But what I still can’t understand is the music. Would you pay money to hear this? Would you wait outside the arena? (People do, by the hundred.)

God help us. THIS is where the big money is. And Hansi is just one name in an entire pantheon of Lederhosen-and-Dirndl-clad faces who are out there drawing crowds in both Austria and Germany. Sure, Austria has a big corner on classical music, and theater, and there is a lot of good stuff from rock bands coming out of Vienna. But turn on the TV, and this is what you get. I’ve been here for nearly 20 years and I still don’t understand it.

This entry was posted in Austria, culture, current events, Germany, lives of others, media, music. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Hansi Throws A Diva Fit

  1. jules says:

    I don’t understand as well. And even being in “low income” state of working in the theatre area I would refuse to work in a business like that. Rather keep my head up and enjoy with what I’m doing than “selling” myself to big business! In the meantime I keep myself happy with dreams of house, dog, reading good books and having GOOD music etc. surrounding me 😉

  2. Marcellina says:

    I tried to think of a similar style of music that remains popular in America despite its awfulness, but Lawrence Welk has been gone for 30 years, and even the twangiest country music songs have better lyrics and melodies than this Volksmusik industry crap. The closest I can get to a comparison is with white-bread Christian music of the dullest kind, heard on the big Bible-thumping, holy-roller Evangelical stations. Now THERE’S big money. But that music isn’t nationally popular.

  3. weltbeobachterin says:

    my cousin was in Kitzbühel, when the “Hansi-event” was. She met even fans from France. No, she isn’t a Hansi-Fan – she just want to climb the mountains and then she met the amount of Hansi-Fans.
    I don’t watch a lot of TV – because on ORF2 there’s most times a “Schmarren” ike Musikantenstadl, Carmen Nebel, Florian Silbereisen, Starnacht am Wörthersee and of course Hansi.
    but some of the songs are OK – most the funny songs like “Steirermen” – but not all of the “volkstümliche Music – trash.

    and real Volksmusik is quite OK.
    What I really like to watch sometimes is “klingendes Österreich” or “Mei liabste wais” – I also like this kind of music – and like to watch how beautiful Austria is. And a kind of education are these two broadcasts too. I am from a village – so the “Blasmusikkapelle” is part of marriages and other festivities. A piece of Music I really like is this one by Franz Posch http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fbexc5TzBnY.

  4. Marcellina says:

    I admit, I like real Volksmusik too. Dreigesang, especially, I find lovely. Zither und Harfe, lovely. Even the Trachtenkapelle has its place in the culture and I am all for that. But the this big Volksmusik industry, I don’t see the connection to the real stuff at all. Only the costumes and the landscapes, and an accordion!
    The best modernized of Austrian Volksmusik is of course the Alpinkatzen, they were terrific. But I think they were an Ausnahme and a Rarität. Schade, eigentlich.

  5. weltbeobachterin says:

    yeah Hubert von Goisern rocks! and you said it! Hansi & Co are Volksmusik Industry – what a contrarity in this word is!

Comments are closed.