Gig

I’ve been offered a concert gig which happens to fall on International Women’s Day. And I’ve been given free rein to do whatever I want (within budgetary restrictions of course.)

The possibilities for an evening of music written by women is making me giddy, especially with “second half of the program” stuff; Joni Mitchell, Shawn Colvin, Mary Chapin Carpenter, Joan Baez, Carole King, Annie Lennox, the Indigo Girls! There are so many great, great songs to choose from.

Well, we could open with some Francesca Caccini.  Clara Schumann songs might work in transcription for guitar… or maybe we’ll throw all that out and just do an entire folk-rock night. Do my musician friends have any ideas they want to throw at me? There’s plenty of time of develop this, so suggestions are welcome

This entry was posted in culture, holidays, music, singing. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Gig

  1. Anonymous says:

    Make sure you include some Barbara Strozzi! Gooood stuff!

  2. Laurie Heimes says:

    Kristina – I left my comment without filling out all the boxes!!! Sorry!

  3. Marcellina says:

    Liiiebchen!!! I knew there was someone I was forgetting but couldn’t remember the name. Strozzi, of course.

  4. Trine says:

    Do you know ‘King Harald’s Saga’ by Judith Weir? It’s an a capella one woman opera where the soprano sings several rôles – for instance the duett between Harald’s two wifes…

  5. Marcellina says:

    A capella? How long is it? This sounds interesting.

  6. Carlisle says:

    Flim Flam Man by Laura Nyro!

  7. Marcellina says:

    Don’t know that one at all! Will look this up too.

Comments are closed.