Here And There

A new artwork has turned up in front of the Stadtcafe, replacing what appeared to be an alien panzer with baby human shields (alien shields?) strapped to the front of it. It’s not that I don’t appreciate modern sculpture, it’s that I tend to approach everything from a perspective drenched in pop-culture. It got me this far, so I can’t say that’s necessarily a bad thing.
So, the above artwork is by  Alois Schild, a Tyrolean artist, and is titled Zeitraubende Glücksmomente, or Time-stealing Moments of Happiness. My first thought is of an overturned boat with many rudders, or the characters from The Poseidon Adventure awaiting rescue. Perhaps one of my colleagues will be able to explain it to me — I remain open to enlightenment.

I do like his other works, though, judging from the photos of pieces in the sculture park in Kramsach. I even kind of like the Inn Valley Angel, which one can see from the autobahn, hanging up in the sky and watching over all the air/rail/highway traffic.

Zeitraubende Glücksmomente remains in the shadow of a more popular installation, however, which is the giant picture frame next to it. Tourists love to seat themselves on the bench inside the frame and have their pictures taken. In the background the post-war Stadtsäle, a building which will probably have a date with the wrecking ball soon.

UPDATE: I know now what this Schild piece really reminds me of.

Remember The Game of Life?

This entry was posted in art, Austria, Innsbruck, Life Abroad, lives of others, travel. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Here And There

  1. ellroon says:

    Omg! That is hilariously right on target. I wonder if the artist had a really profound epiphany when he played games as a child….

  2. Marcellina says:

    I wonder if that game had a German-language version. It seems so American to me now, in a “late-Brady-Bunch-era” kind of way. Driving around in convertibles, going to college…

  3. Marcellina says:

    Aha, found it. “Spiel des Lebens”, the German version, came out in 1980.

  4. Carlisle says:

    Re: Time-Stealing Moments of Happiness – it reminds me of starry-gazey pie!

    http://www.gourmetbritain.com/encyclo_entry.php?item=5136

Comments are closed.