Here And There In America, Part 5


Image and story of the luncheonette found here.

The story at the link is interesting to me in that the author had gone on a search for this diner. We, on the other hand, had always known where it was, in fact we’d known it as the wreck on Rte 724 before it made its way onto the album cover. (It’s a nice album, by the way. Darryl Hall is from around here and still has family in the area. I have never met him.)


The Rosedale Diner is long gone, but the township cleared the lot to create Towpath Park, showing another section of the Girard Canal and its elevated towpath. There are historical markers found in the park giving information on the canal system and its importance to early American industry.

The street has a new “abandoned luncheonette”, only it’s the pizzeria across the road now.


The more things change, the more they stay the same. Someday, someone may get the idea to use a photo of this old place for their next album cover. Maybe someone already has.

This entry was posted in America, history, music, travel. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Here And There In America, Part 5

  1. Matt Simmons says:

    Marcellina, thank you for mentioning the story of the Abandoned Luncheonette I helped author for Larry Cultrera’s “Diner Hotline” website. I immensely enjoy when I can get new perspectives about it from area residents. “The wreck on Route 724” — I don’t believe I had previously heard that one. ­čÖé

    As quirky as it is that I have traveled 600 miles several times to soak in the site, it bears mentioning that people have come to the site from many other continents. When the owner and the diner were still around, a European man broke into tears when the owner wouldn’t permit him to go inside.

    Part of my enjoyment of going to the site is Towpath Park. I have started a tradition with my young daughter of getting our photo taken by the Schuylkill on each visit. It will be a special way of marking her growth (and unfortunately, my aging) through the years.

    And, and for those who live in the area, aren’t aware, and don’t have the time or inclination to read the story on Mr. Cultrera’s site — the man who owned the diner, Bill Faulk, also owned Pizza World, as well.

    Thanks again for the mention. It is genuinely appreciated.

    Matt Simmons

  2. Marcellina says:

    Thank YOU Matt!
    My parents had known it as the “old Rosedale Diner” but not much else about it. I was happy to read your research and see it once more in your photos.

  3. Matt Simmons says:

    My pleasure, Marcellina. The owner’s daughters, and their friend, Sue Norman, were incredibly gracious and helpful in my quest to discover and share the story behind the album cover.

    Matt

Comments are closed.