Here And There In America


I’m spending time doing things that don’t necessarily make good blogging, so here are a few random photos collected along the way. Above, the old railroad bridge behind the Brandywine River Museum in Chadds Ford. The train that hit and killed painter N.C. Wyeth would have been traveling on this line, either to or from the crossing where the accident occurred.


Sitting along the Hudson River in Manhattan, looking across at northern New Jersey on a hot summer day. Just left of the ferry in Ellis Island. Beyond that, just out of view, would be the Statue of Liberty.


On the Great Oak Farm estate in northern Chester County, one of two very old log cabins. I can’t say if they are original settlers’ cabins, but they have been there as long as I can remember. As a little girl I used to visit the granddaughter of these cabins’ owners, prosperous neighbors of ours. But I cannot recall entering either cabin. Probably we were not allowed to go near them, although we had run of the entire woods.

This entry was posted in America, travel. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Here And There In America

  1. Paschberg says:

    I didn´t know that the father of A.Wyeth was killed in an train accident. Almost like Gaudi (hit by a tram).
    I of course googled some detail….finding an interpretion of “Christinas World” due to the loss of his father (http://arthistory.about.com/od/famous_paintings/ss/andrew_wyeth_christinas_world.htm). furthermore ther was stated, that Wyeth style might by caused by this tragedy. Although very different I like the pictures of father an son.

  2. Marcellina says:

    “Christina’s World” is quite well known here. What you write about Andrew Wyeth’s painting style being affected by his father’s (and nephew’s) death is probably true, I learned this at the Brandywine River Museum as well. I like many Wyeth paintings — for me, many of the landscapes (especially the woodlands and stone houses) are distinctly this region and no other.
    Andrew’s son Jamie Wyeth is also a very well known artist.

Comments are closed.