Tales Of The Open Road

(image from Travelpod.com)My guitarist friend and I did our concert about exile, home, and the open road, and it went very well. As a favor to all musicians scouring the internet for concert program ideas, I post ours:

Joni Mitchell: All I Want/Amelia

Spirituals: Swing Low, Sweet Chariot/Go Down Old Hannah/Deep River/Nobody Knows The Trouble I’ve Seen

Hanns Eisler: An den kleinen Radioapparat/ Und es sind die finstern Zeiten

Castelnuovo-Tedesco: “Platero And I “, movements 1 and 5

Paul Simon: America/Homeward Bound

Peter Gabriel: Solsbury Hill/Washing Of The Water

Annie Lennox: Dark Road

Bob Dylan Yer Gonna Make Me Lonesome When You Go

Paul Simon: Still Crazy After All These Years

Bonnie Raitt: The Road’s My Middle Name.

Encore — Harold Arlen: One For My Baby (And One More For The Road)

We started out wanting it to be all American music, but ended up using some songs from an earlier concert. The Eisler and Castelnuovo-Tedesco would fit well on an “Exile in America” concert along with Korgold, Krenek, Schönberg etc, as they both came there from Europe during the Third Reich years. Our subject doesn’t run cleanly through, but we hadn’t had a lot of time to plan. Using this as a base program we can probably clean it up and perform it again elsewhere, and we may do that.

This entry was posted in America, Life Abroad, lives of others, music, singing, travel. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tales Of The Open Road

  1. Diane says:

    Wonderful pictures, as is the usual case with your posts.

    Congrats on your new address. I quite like the new look.

  2. Marcellina says:

    Thanks, Diane, it’s an honor to have you here!

Comments are closed.