>The Royal Wedding

>Had the morning free, unexpectedly, and so I watched the Royal Wedding. And it was lovely. I am not a big Royals watcher, I don’t much care what they do and what scandal concerning them is invented in the media, BUT I do love a proper English church spectacle, and this one certainly delivered!
I have several friends who share a familiarity of English church music and several of them know a lot more of it (and sing it more often) than I do. Being in America, they got up early to watch it on TV as well, and we had a nice time tossing remarks back and forth on facebook. (A special thanks to teenage expert Astrid Emily for naming the musical works for me!)

But I did see a lot of snark and grumbling from many others, and I had to wonder why. As I said, I’m not a big fan, but is it necessary to call it crap? My first inclination is to see that as the instinct to diss something out of fear of being seen as foolish. After all, better pessimistically clever* than optimistically naive, right? Then I began to realize that people were “talking” through the filter of their own marriage experiences — as in, ‘it won’t last, so you might as well forget it’. Ah, well.

For the rest of the day, I am going to try an experiment: link people’s response to the wedding (no one seems to have a middle-of-the-road view of it!**) to the state of their personal romantic relationships.

*Example: a comment that the bride arrived in an automobile instead of a carriage, so they wouldn’t mistake her “for one of the horses.”
** Among anglophones, at least. 

This entry was posted in current events, lives of others, media, music. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to >The Royal Wedding

  1. Becca says:

    >Well, I don't think he meant it quite the way you think, and it WAS just on my facebook page as we were chatting during the wedding. He's English, in London, I'm American in NYC, and we have a long history of teasing. But glad it gave you food for your blog, and it is true that people WILL say negative things about the royals, no matter what.

  2. Marcellina says:

    >OK, hearing he is English *sort of* excuses it. 😉 Somehow I believe it would have been meant worse, coming from an American. Maybe I shouldn't expect everyone to mentally separate a wonderful show from the personal lives of the main characters (altho people still happily watch Charlie Sheen, don't they?) I hope I don't across as aggrieved or defensive, it's more head-shaking. And a lot of others said less interesting but just as negative stuff, as you said.

  3. >I'm an anglophone and an anglophile. I guess I am the elusive person with middle-of-the-road feelings about the Royal Wedding (it must be capitalized, right?)I watched the coverage of the kissing on the balcony, and I was struck by how punctual it was. The kiss was scheduled for :25 after the hour, and the curtains parted on the dot. I not IMAGINE a similar event being on time in the USA.

  4. Marcellina says:

    >WV, a LOT is planned on the dot for live television broadcasts of shows and stuff. I think even commercial breaks are punctual!But I loved how they kissed politely, and the crowd started chanting "Kiss again!"

  5. Anonymous says:

    >And they DID kiss again! That was sweet.

Comments are closed.