>Cyberfamous

>This article in the NYT about successful Mommy Bloggers (h/t to John Carter Wood at Obscene Desserts) is fairly astounding. $30,000-50,000 per month??! For baring your soul, spilling gossip, letting the skeletons out of the family closet every day, to millions of readers? Well. Of course, the main achiever in the article had to make her blog into her business, since her previous employer fired her for her online musings, and even if it led her to fame and fortune, I sure as hell am not ready to go there.
But, on the other hand, should I lose my job after the regime change next year, maybe I’ll be more in a position to fling dirt around, or expose my aching, unemployed soul to the masses. Probably not, I don’t think it’s in my nature to do that publicly. (But still, man, for that kind of money…!)

Possible disclaimer: every so often I do get an invitation to join some organization or conglomerate of blogs, and I never do. Probably I’m missing out on some grand future, but I don’t think so.

This entry was posted in America, blogs. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to >Cyberfamous

  1. Marcellina says:

    >Well, it's been decided over on a facebook thread; I just need to start moonlighting as a prostitute and write about my double life. The money will come pouring in!

  2. MsMezzo says:

    >I used to read Dooce's blog (the blog referred to in your post) several years ago. I have to say she had a really interesting voice and a very funny way of expressing her daily challenges. I can't read her anymore she is a little too much now, but people don't make $50,000 a month by writing badly. Some people would never consider advertisement on their blogs, and that's ok too. A good blog is a great thing. Like your blog, Marcellina…its a great venue for your writing talent! Not so sure about the prostitution though….

  3. Marcellina says:

    >Thank you MsMezzo!Well, some singers will tell you we are all prostituting ourselves already, but that's another story…

  4. Astrid says:

    >I wonder how much Tom and Lorenzo are making over on their blog – they're such whores for fashion ;-D

Comments are closed.