>Pagans In Tirol?

>

The forest has many secrets.

This weird tree is right behind a little woodland chapel. I wonder who puts stones there?(There are little stone piles all over the hill and they look “placed”. Or maybe I am just seeing things that are not there.) The tree makes me think back to that old survivalist children’s film, “My Side Of The Mountain”, in which a boy runs away and lives off the land, making a home out of an old hollow tree.

Hmmm, yet another mystery stone. A cross and what looks like an i carved into its surface. Curiouser and curiouser…


Wow, I wasn’t expecting this. A ring of rocks filled with evergreen branches (covering campfire ashes, maybe), with decoratively placed yellow tulips all around it — in the middle of an old flak circle ruin on the hilltop! Pagans celebrating the birth of spring earlier this month? I wonder if they would let me show up and observe someday…

This entry was posted in archaeology, Austria, Mountains, nature. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to >Pagans In Tirol?

  1. Trine says:

    >I love that, so mysterious. I once met an artist who made 'Land Art', he would go around in forests making piles of stone or weave long strands of grass in the tree branches, that sort of thing. I tried a bit myself, it's very satisfying!

  2. Marcellina says:

    >I am tempted to do it as well!

Comments are closed.