>There Is Magic Afoot!

>

“[O]ne of those places in the landscape which — one doesn’t really know why — attunes the observer to a solemn state of mind. People of primitive times instinctively made these places into sites of worship.”
— Karl Lukan, Wanderungen in die Vorzeit  (“Walking-Tours into Prehistoric Times”)

OK, some people might shake their heads at this, but something very interesting has been going on. Last November I posted a photo of a favorite tree of mine, growing along a particular stretch of dark, quiet forest path.

For about 50 meters on either side, as soon as I climb over a certain rocky patch, I always get this inexplicable feeling of well-being, as if I am in a place that is particularly magical and sacred. I am not someone who goes looking for this kind of thing (I like archeology and I’m interested in the prehistoric finds in the area, but I never felt “at one” with them or anything like that. Not that there’s anything wrong with that, I just never did. Until, well…)

I found myself often stopping right at this tree (a beech, surrounded by spruces,) just to take it in, to look at how it lines up so uncannily with the rocky outcropping above it. If it were closer to the path I would probably have sat down next to it and daydreamed. (Hecate would say I was grounding.) I have very often wondered if there were perhaps undiscovered markings, under the moss and trees growing on those rocks above. This tree, which struck me as distinct from the first second I saw it (a full year after I began spending serious time there,) became a sort of totem for me, a reminder to stop and look and feel whatever it was there, in the air, in the half light, in the calm, just for a moment.

So, what happened is that this guy, who’s blog I love (sorry, it’s in German) and who is into things like prehistoric markings on rocks, hears mention of another Schalenstein (a rock with cup marks) having been sighted once on this hill and written about in the eighties. He goes off hunting for it in this not-so-small forest, following the directions given, and ends up…

 standing in front of my tree. And even recognized it as being such. The Schalenstein may very well be any one of the several boulders found directly up the hill from it (or directly below it) its markings now hidden under the moss.

Which, you know, is just weird.  Or is it?

This entry was posted in Austria, blogs, history, memory, nature. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to >There Is Magic Afoot!

  1. Hecate says:

    >Cool! And it is a lovely tree!

  2. Astrid says:

    >spooky, and very cool… I love things like that!

  3. ljr says:

    >i enjoyed what you said very much

  4. ljr says:

    >sorry – didn't realize where is was

  5. Paschberg says:

    >It might be just the topograohy of the place. When you walk from the west uphill this small plateau sheds the noise from downhill – so there it is compareable to other places nearby more silent.On the other hand – as can be seen on the Laserscanning – the cliff above the beech-tree ist part of a longer system wihich might be cuased by geological reasons e.g. a fault.Well – and a fault in the rocks can be localized also by a dowsing rod (for the gifted ones).

  6. Marcellina says:

    >Zerstöre meine Illusionen nicht, Du!;-)I did notice that long ridge and wonder if the most-easterly point possible of Lanser Kopf would line up with the "Stadtnachrichten" Schalenstein point on the map. And whether that would indicate the possibility of either a rectangle (rocks north of the path along golf course) or even a cross (looking even further west).

Comments are closed.