>Herbsttage

>The weather reports called for snow as far down as our altitude today, and although it hasn’t come, you can feel that winter is just behind the mountains, ready to pounce. It’s time for hot tea, and heating up the woodstove, and baking apple cake. The sun comes up a little later and sets a little earlier (and this is something I notice much more when the sunrise comes up over a mountain range.)
There are piles of pumpkins in the supermarkets, even though Halloween is a little controversial here. Some people don’t like the idea of an “imported”, secular holiday, and maybe it competes a little too much with Fasching (or Carnival season. The costumes tend to get mixed up, and when you see vampires and zombies in February it does throw you a little.) But since pumpkins are an Austrian staple crop (for making pumpkin seed oil, a regional specialty, and delicious pumpkin soup), one can argue that purchasing a pumpkin supports the national economy.

This entry was posted in Austria, holidays, Mountains. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to >Herbsttage

  1. >Well I like your picture and pumkins. If I'm honest, it sounds like pump-guns. I think Austrian people don't like Halloween because many don't know the background. Another cause is that people are afraid that the children will destroy a lot if they don't give them sweets. (Trick or treat). We in Mühlviertel have got a similar tradition to do some vicious trick. But it'S forbidden to destroy.And last but not least in Austria this is no tradition so it is just commercial nonsense "kommerzieller Schmarrn". I hope, I didn't make too much mistakes.

  2. Marcellina says:

    >Not at all! Perfectly readable.Yes, the "trick or treat" thing has been worked out over the decades in North America, and neighbors leave the porch light on as a way to show they welcome trick-or-treaters. I have heard that as an imported holiday, older kids tend to take the "trick" part of the equation literally.It is absolutely commercialized these days; I tend to see the resistance as similar to the Santa-hats-in-the-Christkindlmarkt protests. Also, Nov 1 is actually celebrated here, and not so much in the US.

  3. >yeah, that's right Nov. 1 is celebrated. As a child I got from my godfather the "Godnsache" – "godfatherthings" and we eat "Striezel". I really like it because my mother bake them. I also learned to make some "Striezel".

Comments are closed.