>Business Travel

>I had the supreme good fortune to be offered a paying gig in the Württemberg wine region, in the German state of Baden-Württemberg. I arrived in town 5 hours before a pre-concert run-through with the orchestra, so my host took me on a short hike up around the edge of the fields to have a look at the landscape.
This area produces mostly red wines — Trollinger, Pinot Meunier, Limberger and Pinot Noir are the most-commonly grown grapes here. Also Riesling for white wine.

The day after the concert, my hosts took me to an outdoor restaurant atop of a hill, looking over the entire region and beyond to the neighboring counties. The towns in this area have that look that Americans associate with Olde Germany (Heidelberg is not that far away), with half-timbered buildings and old castle ruins on hilltops. If I had stayed for more than 24 hours, I would have traveled around and took more pictures. As it was I was at the mercy of my (wonderful) hosts, who nevertheless showed me a little bit of the area and made sure I was well taken care of.
Oh, and the concert went very well!

This entry was posted in Germany, music, travel. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to >Business Travel

  1. Jody says:

    >Do you per chance remember the name of that restaurant? I will be in that area in 2 weeks showing family around and a restaurant with a view is just never a bad idea! Thank you, enjoy your blog very much! Jody

  2. Marcellina says:

    >It's Waldschenke Hörnle. Here's their website:http://www.waldschenke-hoernle.de/No table service, you have to stand in line to order and wait to hear your number (so hopefully someone in your group understands German well!) But the tables near the edge have spectacular views of the area.If you're going to be in Heilbronn, I was told that WeinVilla "has good food, reperesent many (many) local vintners, and are nice folks" by a real oenophile who would know.http://www.wein-villa.de/index.php

Comments are closed.