>A different kind of Liederabend

>I performed on a recital last night, courtesy of the British expat community, with a guitarist with whom I often sing. Between the two of us we know a lot of different kinds of music, and became acquainted with even more as we researched for this concert program. Now, when I am putting a program together, I like to look around and see what other people have done, get ideas, see what might work. For classical singers, “The Art of the Song Recital” is an excellent source of basic program building, including samples of different recital programs. Ours, however, was going to be a little out there, because we set out to mix up all the styles that say “English” to us, in whatever ways that might be. And so, for any future visitors who are looking for concert ideas for medium voice and guitar, here’s our program. Our theme is “1000 Years of Britpop”, using the term very loosely:

  • St. Godrich: Sainte Nicholas (plainchant),
  • Sainte Marie Virgine (arranged)
  • Anonymous: Sumer is icumen in
  • Dowland: Come Away, Come Sweet Love,
  • Rest Awhile You Cruel Cares,
  • Come Again,
  • Galliard (solo guitar)
  • Now, O Now, I Needs Must Part,
  • Sleep, Wayward Thoughts, segueing into…
  • Anderson/Squire: All Good People/Your Move
  • Anderson:Long Distance Runaround
  • Johnson: Carman’s Whistle (guitar) segueing to
  • Winder: Lady MacBeth
  • Purcell: Music For A While,
  • I Saw That You Have Grown So High
  • Harrison: Beware of Darkness
  • Starr: Octopus’ Garden (this worked well as a reggae song!)
  • Lennon: Hide Your Love Away
  • McCartney: Picasso’s Last Words
Interval.

  • Parry: Jerusalem
  • Peter: Gabriel Washing of the Water,
  • Mercy Street,
  • Solsbury Hill
  • John Duarte: Dirge In Woods,
  • An Epitaph
  • Britten: I Will Give My Love An Apple,
  • Bonny At Morn
  • Vaughan Williams: Whither Must I Wander
  • Dowland: Flow My Tears
  • Ian Anderson: One Brown Mouse,
  • Life’s A Long Song,
  • Thick As A Brick

Several of the rock tunes were dictated from the CDs. I can’t tell you how many times I transcribed songs myself, for performances with unusual instrumentation. It’s good to try this and get used to it, for example when you have a song with piano accompaniment but need it for string quartet. It can be done, especially if you have a flexible enough group of musicians to abuse!
I am sympathetic to copyright laws, but there are times when you just can’t find things. The Godric, for instance — I can’t find the songs for distribution, and it’s probably only in medieval manuscript notation in the British Archives… but it’s been recorded. This is where that music school dictation training kicks in.

This entry was posted in culture, music, singing. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to >A different kind of Liederabend

  1. Minnie says:

    >Fab programme – wish I could have been there! Am huge devotee of English music, & applaud your knowledge + choices.Re early music notation: found a ref. site the other day which might possibly be of interest; not sure, but will send anyway ;-)!

  2. Marcellina says:

    >Oh, please do! It might come in handy in the future.

  3. Minnie says:

    >Hi Marcellina, you should have had the link by now. If not, let me know.

  4. Minnie says:

    >PS Wot no Finzi? Harrumph (;-)!)!

Comments are closed.