>One of the Things I Miss

>Austria has pumpkins. There is a market for pumpkin-seed oil, and pumpkin soup is a local specialty (pie, not so much.) So you can find pumpkins at this time of year, but not all cut like this.
Halloween is a tricky topic here, seen as an American holiday imported for commercial profits, like Valentines Day. It’s not part of the culture, and yet it’s gaining a foothold with children, who go to day-care sponsored Halloween parties and apartment-complex trick-or-treating. They know it from American films (E.T. comes to mind) and so it looks fun. I didn’t give much thought to it, outside of hosting or attending a few Halloween parties, until my grandmother died in mid October, and I flew home for the funeral. It had been 10 years since I’d been home in Halloween-season, and all the decorations on the neighborhood houses made me smile.

Occasionally I’ll buy a pumpkin and make a jack o’lantern from it, and light a candle in it. Maybe it would be a good idea to do that again this year.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.